skip navigation

Online databases for newspapers, magazines, and much  more!

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

The Sayreville Public Library subscribes to many newspapers and magazines, including the Home News Tribune, the Asbury Park Press, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and more.  For a complete list of periodicals available in paper format in the library, click here.

The following databases are available from computer stations in the library, located near the Reference room. For those that allow access from home, you will need your library card.

New | Business | Career & Test Preparation | Current Events & Issues | Genealogy & Obituaries |
General Research | Health | History & Newspapers | Literature | Science | Spanish Language Databases


NEWLY ACQUIRED DATABASES

 

Bloom's Literary Reference Guide-new!

This outstanding resource includes the writings of renowned literary critic Harold Bloom, as well as an archive of tens of thousands of characters, a timeline of world literature, a special feature on Harold Bloom’s Western Canon, videos on authors and works, and extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and much more.
Use this resource to complete book reports, write term papers, conduct well-balanced research, learn more about works and authors, and much more.

Features include:

· Author Biographies
· Literary Criticism
· Overviews and Synopses
· Topics and Themes
· Timeline
· Characters
· Images and Videos
· Harold Bloom’s Western Canon
· and more.

Tutorial Button

To view this tour, you will need Flash.
Click here to download it for free.

 

 

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center-new!

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center contains information on thousands of jobs and industries and provides invaluable advice on applying for a job, acing an interview, behaving professionally in the work environment, and more—with more than 90 sample résumés and cover letters included. You can also search and browse tens of thousands of entries on scholarships, internships, and more—as well as hundreds of new videos, on jobs, industries, and skills.


Features include:

· Job Profiles
· Industry Overviews
· Skills Articles
· Sample Résumés and Cover Letters
· School Search
· Videos
· Career Advice
· Special Features
· and more.

Tutorial Button

To view this tour, you will need Flash.
Click here to download it for free.

 

BUSINESS

Buisness Source

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost

 

Regional Business

Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.

 

 

 

 

referencwusa

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA is a subscription database that contains information on more than twelve million U.S. businesses and one million Canadian businesses. Data is compiled from Yellow Page and Business White Page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information; federal, state, provincial, and municipal government data; Chamber of Commerce information; leading business magazines, trade publications, newsletters, major newspapers, industry, and specialty directories; and postal service information. Access to this database is made possible by the New Jersey State Library.


Tutorial Button

Corfacts

Corfacts Online  from the library   from home

New Jersey's Premier Business-to-Business Directory for New Jersey company information.  Reach more than 56,000 New Jersey businesses top officers, plant managers, HR contacts, and buyers.  Create mailing lists and prospect lists, update your contact database, do market research, and more.

 

 

 

 

CAREER & TEST PREPARATION

Learning Express

LearningExpressLibrary

Learning Express Library is a collection of practice tests and tutorial courses designed to help you prepare for various academic or licensing tests. Log in (at the library or from home) with your Sayreville Library barcode. (Yes, you need a library barcode.  This helps you keep track of your progress over time.)  The library of exams includes:

  • AP tests in many subjects
  • College and graduate school entrance exams
  • Professional, civil service, and protection service exam preparation
  • Basic skills improvement
  • TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship, and much more

Tutorial Button

To view this tour, you will need Flash. Click here to download it for free.

Career Library

Career Library

Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.

 

 

 

 

 

CURRENT EVENTS & ISSUES

 

Facts On File World News Digest is a permanent record of the essential facts of the news as reported in the major newspapers and news magazines of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world. The editors of Facts On File World News Digest research and distill key news information every week from more than 100 major newspapers, news magazines, other periodicals, and government and online sources from the U.S. and around the world into a permanent, researchable record. The news information is cross-checked for accuracy, and the summaries are written and edited for maximum clarity and swift retrieval of factual information.

 

Points of View


Points of View Reference Center


Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.

GENEALOGY & OBITUARIES

newsbank

NewsBank NewsFile Collection

News articles covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, the arts, people, health and science issues, and events from more than 500 U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

GENERAL RESEARCH

JerseyClicks

JerseyClicks

Simultaneously search thousands of full-text magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, and other reliable information sources.  JerseyClicks runs your search through nearly two dozen databases.  Searches are customizable.  You must have a valid library card to use this service from home.  

Tutorial Button

To view this tour, you will need powerpoint
or a powerpoint viewer.
Click here to download a powerpoint viewer for free.

Ebscohost

EbscoHost   from the library   from home

Search EbscoHost for a wide variety of articles, pamphlets, and more on health, business, academic, and recreational topics. This is a great resource for homework, research, and many areas of interest.  

 

 

 

 

Greenfile

GreenFILE

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well. 

Consumereports.org

Consumer Reports 

ConsumerReports.org is one of the most trusted resources for information and advice on consumer products.  The award-winning website’s articles, blogs, forums, and videos enable consumers to make better purchasing decisions on all the products they are shopping for from dishwashers to digital cameras to infant car seats, save money on home improvement plans, shore up personal finances, improve their health, and more. The site also features the ability to Shop Online for everything from electronics to appliances, new and used car pricing, and the New Car Selector Tool.

HEALTH

HealthSource

Health Source
Consumer Edition

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

 

Flu.gov

Flu.gov provides comprehensive government-wide information on seasonal, H1N1 (swine), H5N1 (bird) and pandemic influenza for the general public, health and emergency preparedness professionals, policy makers, government and business leaders, school systems, and local communities.

MedlinePlus

Medline Plus

MedlinePlus directs you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also contains extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, the latest health news, and surgery videos.

HISTORY & NEWSPAPERS

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

 

newsbank

NewsBank NewsFile Collection

News articles covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, the arts, people, health and science issues, and events from more than 500 U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts.

 

Historical Newspapers Logo

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
  from the library   from home

Offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper–cover-to-cover–with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.  This ongoing project already includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Tribune, The Atlanta Constitution, The Boston Globe, and The Hartford Courant.

new york times

New York Times   from the library   from home

Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.

Custom Newspapers

Custom Newspapers

Full text articles from several New Jersey newspapers, the New York Times, and many more national and international newspapers, including: 
The Newark Star Ledger (Jan '96 to current) The New York Times (last 365 days) The Bergen Record (Jan '96 to current) Access to this database is made possible by the New Jersey State Library.

LITERATURE

Contemporary Authors

Contemporary Authors

Biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Each Contemporary Authors® Online entry contains the most complete and up-to-date entry, accessible through an easy-to-use interface with a variety of search paths to help you locate the information you need quickly and efficiently. You can easily search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards and much more. Access to this database is made possible by the New Jersey State Library.

doaj

Directory of Open Access Journals

Database of over 1,400 full-text scholarly & scientific peer-reviewed journals in many disciplines available freely over the Internet.  Browse by journal name or subject area -OR- conduct a focused search.  Note: while all participating journals are full text, meaning you can access the full contents online, only about 1/4 of the contents are currently searchable on the article-level.  To read the rest, you must use the browse feature.

 

 

Novelist Plus

Novelist   from the library   from home

Find new fiction to read—match a favorite author or book, or find by describing plot, subject, or genre.  Access to this database is made possible by the New Jersey State Library.

tutorial button

To view this tour, you will need Flash.
Click here to download it for free.

 

 

Literary Reference

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.

 

SPANISH LANGUAGE DATABASES

Informe

Informe

Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. ¡Informe! thinks through every query in Spanish. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms. ¡Informe! also features title annotations in both English and Spanish to help non-Spanish speaking staff to easily assist users. Students of Spanish, as well as non-native speakers can also easily access ¡Informe!'s resources through this bilingual approach.

Salud

Salud En Espanol

Salud en Español provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Topic specific reports covering all aspects of health offer valuable overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health related themes: first aid, infant/ child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.